top of page
  • De’Kree Antone

Book Review: "Grown" by Tiffany D. Jackson

By De'Kree Antone


"Grown" by Tiffany.D.Jackson unravels the raw truth of black culture and the struggles that come along with it. And due to the fact that it does become detailed in these struggles, They're a few controversial and sensitive topics that you may want to take into consideration. If you want to know what those topics are, the author made a content warning in the very beginning of the book to give you an idea of what you were about to read. Now that you are aware enough, I can give my honest opinion on this newly released 2020 novel.


Overall, I am extremely satisfied with what I read. It allowed me to gain understanding of the whole underbelly of this society, while also keeping me entertained and engaged in a classic murder mystery tied into the whole thing. It was amazing how the author allowed me to put me in a different perspective with almost each character, while still focusing on the main character and what they are dealing with. The way the author describes someone's pain or someone's joy or even both was astounding and almost always was easy for me to understand. Another thing is that she set the tone perfectly for what was happening. I was also able to relate to the majority of customs such: types of social media platforms, genres of music, and the slang used in certain communities.


Tiffany D. Jackson did an exquisite job in revealing the inside of what can happen to someone; From the beginning to the climax and the aftermath of it all. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who is interested in wanting to know the inside story of what a lot of people could go through and the reaction to what society has to say, while also staying on your toes and learning new details when you continue to go deeper into this captivating novel . There is so much more I would love to say about this book, but then that would spoil all the greatness that it has, And all the knowledge that you would gain reading it. " Grown" by Tiffany .D. Jackson remembered that.


46 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page