top of page
  • De’Kree Antone

Attention 10th grade Lady Eagles! Attention 10th grade Lady Eagles! Scripps College Academy Program

By: De'Kree Antone

Attention 10th grade Lady Eagles! This school year there will be an opportunity for you that I strongly encourage you to not ignore. I am pleased to be now part of the Scripps College Academy a.k.a. SCA. This program has increased my chances of success by creating a community that I could not find in Rialto. SCA is a program that is with you for 6 years as you go through your journey of preparation for college and throughout your college experience. They will mentor and challenge your capabilities so you can grow, because they want to see you succeed. During my 2 weeks there, I was critiqued by everyone on my writing as well as my process of understanding content, which allowed me to be closer to pursuing my goals and aspirations. When I say I was critiqued by everyone that is literally what I mean. Professors, faculty, even your own peers help you to be the best version of yourself by supporting you in developing ideas that you would have never thought of if it wasn’t for them. I asked the scholars to give me 3 words that summarizes their experience at SCA and here’s what they said. “My experience at SCA was:

  • “Awakening, life-changing, incredible”

  • “Homelike, supportive, and fun”

  • “Liberating, encouraging, and loving”

  • “The making of family like bond or the making of newfound writers/creators”

  • “Stressful, Interactive, memorable”

  • “Everything and more”

  • “Extraordinary, fun and open-minded”

Just like these scholars, I agree with all of these thoughts. So, Lady Eagles, around the beginning of spring either a man or woman will come to the school. Their names are Robert and Amy and they will discuss this wonderful opportunity with you all. This is an amazing opportunity for the Eagles and all I ask is that you see how far you can go. If you are interested in trying to get in you can try to find me in Mr. Davis' classroom for any help. Good luck Eagles!


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page