top of page
  • Arlynn Del Cid

How humans can relate to Pluto

By: Arlynn Del Cid

Space? Not the space that you see between two cars parked together, or the space needed to protect yourself from a disease. Space the one right above us, the one filled with stars and beautiful blue and purple rays alongside wondrous planets. I have always loved looking at the stars and the peace that comes with it, but while looking at the sky in October when our planet Jupiter revealed itself with no scientific help to the bare eye, I thought about how grateful I was to be able to experience a once in a lifetime event. Looking at the sky made me feel grateful for what I was able to experience but after looking at the sky for a while I asked, “But what about Pluto?” I dissected that thought for a while and from ongoing thinking I released how much we humans can relate to Pluto. Pluto was a planet for 76 years and from one day to another scientists decided it would no longer be a planet, scientists who don't know anything about Pluto not knowing the capacity that it can hold, judging Pluto without knowing anything about it. Scientists made Pluto feel unneeded, insecure for not being a big enough planet, more so making it feel forgotten. All this reminded me about how our world and society can make us feel. From magazines to posts on social media making us feel like we need to look and act a certain way. Sometimes in the midst of all these things it ends up just being ourselves and our thoughts that can end up like “the city that never sleeps”. A constant thing that doesn't go away. Just how scientists could have made Pluto feel forgotten, we can sometimes feel that way. Although that can sometimes happen we must remember that we aren't alone and that there are people that truly care about us. Some may not say it or act upon it, but that doesn't mean they don't care nor have forgotten about you because I, for one, can say that I haven't forgotten Pluto and will forever call its name when naming planets even if scientists say that it's just a dwarf planet now.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page